Why are the SPI MISO and SCLK signals shorted together?

General discussions about using the Astrobe IDE to program the FPGA RISC5 cpu used in Project Oberon 2013
jmaggio14

Why are the SPI MISO and SCLK signals shorted together?

Post by jmaggio14 » Tue Mar 09, 2021 8:23 pm

I'm curious about the following lines in the RISC5Top Source code. (I hope it's okay to post this little snippet of source)

Code: Select all

assign MOSI[1] = MOSI[0], SCLK[1] = SCLK[0];
assign MOSI[2] = MOSI[0], SCLK[2] = SCLK[0];

Am I right in saying that MOSI and SCLK signals are all shorted together? What's the purpose of this? (I'm a relative novice with SPI)

cfbsoftware
Site Admin

Re: Why are the SPI MISO and SCLK signals shorted together?

Post by cfbsoftware » Tue Mar 09, 2021 9:24 pm

My understanding is that only one SPI device on the RISC5 system is active at any time. In section 17.2.3. The SPI interface for the SD-card (disk) and the Net of the book Project Oberon - The Design of an Operating System, a Compiler, and a Computer. it states:
Here, however, no use is made of SPI's ring topology. Instead, One master interface is serving both the disk and the net.
However, the SS (Slave Select) connection is separate for each SPI device. A device is enabled when SS for that device goes low.

gray

Re: Why are the SPI MISO and SCLK signals shorted together?

Post by gray » Sat Apr 10, 2021 2:26 am

I think we should differentiate between the SPI device itself, and SPI-connected devices, for lack of a better term. The SPI device is implemented in the FPGA, the SPI-connected devices are, well, connected to this SPI device. The SD card is an SPI-connected device, as is the RTC if installed.